Resources for Patients, Families & Carers

When a patient with learning disabilities visits a hospital or medical setting they can experience difficulties in receiving the care that they need for various reasons.

A health profile is the best way to overcome any obstacles as it helps to overcome any communication issues, it provides nurses and clinicians with essential medical information  and most importantly will encourage staff  to make any reasonable adjustments  to make the hospital/medical  visit a better experience.

Click on the links below to download a copy of the Health Profile and for guidance notes on how to complete it. We have also added a snapshot of the Care Bundle for you to download. 

Please scroll to bottom of the page for the  current directory of Learning disability liaison nurses in Wales.

Health Profile

Guidance Notes

Easy-Read Guidance Notes

Driver Diagram of Care Bundle

Important:

Please ensure that you are using the most up to date version of this health profile.  Please click on link below to check: 

https://phw.nhs.wales/services-and-teams/improvement-cymru/our-work/learning-disability-health-improvement-programme/health-profile/health-profile-for-professionals/

Learning Disability Liaison Nurse Directory

Health Board Hospital Contact Details
Aneurin Bevan University Health Board
ALNs cover all Hospitals:

Royal Gwent Hospital
St. Cadoc's Hospital
Nevill Hall Hospital
St Woolos Hospital
Ysbyty Aneurin Bevan
Ysbyty Ystrad Fawr Hospital
Chepstow Community Hospital
Monnow Vale Hospital
County Hospital

From November, covering:
The Grange University Hospital
Michelle Williams
07969 001494
Michelle.williams20@wales.nhs.uk

Danielle Evans (currently away from post)
07814 301047
Danielle.Evans2@wales.nhs.uk
Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board
Ysbyty Gwynedd
Sian Lewis
07833 634492
Sian.Lewis2d012a@wales.nhs.uk
Ysbyty Glan Clwyd
Simon Meadowcroft
07919 302312
Simon.meadowcroft@wales.nhs.uk

Nicola Lamb
07900 052095
Nicola.Lamb@wales.nhs.uk
Wrexham Maelor
Matron – Kim Scandariato
07966 511085
kim.scandariato@wales.nhs.uk
Cardiff and Vale University Health Board
University Hospital of Wales
Rhiannon Smith (Currently away from post)
02921 847174
Rhiannon.smith4@wales.nhs.uk

Nesta Narbad
02921 847170
Nesta.Narbad@wales.nhs.uk

SBU.LDLiaisonNursesUHW@wales.nhs.uk
Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board
Prince Charles Hospital
Beth Williams
07929 773449
Beth.Williams4@wales.nhs.uk
Princess of Wales Hospital
Judith Wall
01656 752266
07976 371249
Judith.Wall@wales.nhs.uk
Royal Glamorgan
Judith Wall & Beth Williams
01443 443443 ext 6378
or details as above.
Hywel Dda University Health Board
Bronglais Hospital
Teresa Hassell
07896 929433
Teresa.hassell@wales.nhs.uk
Withybush Hospital
Prince Phillip Hospital
Lisa-Marie Hassall
Learning Disability Community Nurse/ Acute Health Facilitation Nurse
Lisa-marie.hassell@wales.nhs.uk
01437 772819
Glangwili Hospital
Linda Phillips
07799 891441
Linda.Phillips@wales.nhs.uk
Health Action Team
Professional Lead for Liaison Nursing – Laura Andrews
07482 190557
Laura.a.andrews@wales.nhs.uk

ldhealthliaison.HDD@wales.nhs.uk
Powys Teaching Health Board
North Powys
Deborah O'Shea - Community Learning Disability Nurse
01686 617373
07814 625265
Deborah.O'Shea@wales.nhs.uk
South Powys Learning Disability Team
Bronllys Hospital
Catherine Davies - Community Care Liaison Nurse Learning Disabilities
07980 944954
01874 712644
Catherine.Davies240760@wales.nhs.uk
Swansea Bay University Health Board
Morriston Hospital
Kara Knowles
01792 702222 ext 32959
Karajoanne.knowles@wales.nhs.uk
Neath Port Talbot Hospital
Sharon Dixon and Helen Lewis (Job share)
01639 862000 or 07974 640582 or 07973 867261
Sharon.Dixon2@wales.nhs.uk
Helen.Lewis10@wales.nhs.uk
Singleton Hospital
Helen Lewis and Sharon Dixon (Job share)
01792 205666 or 07974 640582 or 07973 867261
Helen.Lewis10@wales.nhs.uk
Sharon.Dixon2@wales.nhs.uk

The Learning Disability Logo

We created a logo to be used as a gentle indicator to hospital staff that their patient needs a little extra care...